Vocabulary Lesson: Hobbies and Interests

In this lesson we are learning and practicing how to speak about our interests and things we like to do.

This lesson will help you build the vocabulary you need to have a conversation with someone about how you spend your time and how to ask about their hobbies.

There are different ways that someone can ask you about your hobbies.

Let’s practice different ways of asking someone about what they like to do.

Hobbies? What are hobbies?

Hobbies are activities you do regularly for pleasure in your free time.

Here are some examples of popular hobbies:

I enjoy swimming.

I do yoga in my free time.

I love hanging out with friends in my free time.

My hobby is reading books.

Here’s another way someone could ask you about your hobbies:

Interests? What are interests?

Interests are things that you want to learn more about or topics you like to talk about.

Let’s practice how to answer this question:

My interests are cooking and baking.

I am interested in finance.

I have an interest in makeup.

Watching videos on YouTube is one of my interests.

You can also ask about hobbies by saying:

Fun? What is fun?

Fun means something that you enjoy or something you do that makes you feel happy.

Let us practice more vocabulary and sentences to answer these question:

I use snap chat for fun.

Travelling is fun for me.

I enjoy listening to music and dancing.

I watch movies for fun.

Another common way of asking about someone’s hobbies and interests is:

Free Time is the time when you are not working, studying, going to school or busy with housework.

This time is also called ‘leisure time’, so we can also ask:

Here are some good ways to answer:

I like going to the gym.

I’m always on social media.

I take long bubble baths.

I usually go on a date with my boyfriend.

A more casual way of asking someone what they like to do in their free time is:

Remember, this is an informal way of asking and you should avoid using it in a professional place like at work or in a professional email.

Let’s practice some more sentences to answer this question.

I am in to art.

or,

I do a lot of art.

I am really in to cycling.

I am interested in artificial intelligence.

I am deeply in to my religion.

I’m obsessed with playing video games.

I love to go sightseeing.

And if you love trying new food and eating at different restaurants, you can say:

I am really into food.

or,

I am a foodie!

If you are interested in living healthy you can say:

I am in to healthy living.

or,

I am in to fitness and health.

Discuss the following questions:

What do you like to do for fun? Why?

What is something you never do in your free time?

Is there any hobby you wish to do in the future

Well done! Hope you learned a lot in this lesson.
Remember to practice different ways of asking and answering questions about hobbies and interests.
Practice this lesson more than 1 time. The more you practice, the better you will learn.